“Charm ache with air, and agony with words.” ~William Shakespeare (Much Ado About Nothing)

Welcome to the kickoff of my new blog, operation UNunhappy!  Thanks for taking the time to visit.

I started the operation UNunhappy blog to document my mid-life crisis attempts to reset, rediscover, and re-purpose my measly little existence.  I’m on a mission to de-perfection-ize my life (since my penchant for perfectionism has nearly driven me insane).  Join me for a real, honest account of the ups and downs in my trek toward UNunhappy – a term I coined to define the byproduct of life that so many of us are searching for.

So what does being UNunhappy mean I’m not exactly sure yet, but I intend to try to find out.  I’m all too familiar with its antithesis, unhappiness: for a long time now, I have definitely been unhappy with most aspects of my life:  my work, my health, my relationships with others, my future pathways.  I’ve gone through some pretty tough times in the past few years – who hasn’t, right?  A potent mixture of divorce, deception, grief, loss, soul-sucking work, and adverse life events pretty much knocked the proverbial wind out of me.  Of course it hasn’t been all bad, there have been some good times too.  But I believe it has to be possible to find and experience – on a regular basis – contentment, ease, satisfaction, humor, fulfillment, love, and a sense of PEACE in our lives; and so I’ve started a new journey to balance my daily existence with these vital aspects of UNunhappiness.  Will it be all peonies and puppy dog tails?  Of course not (although I hope to literally have both of those things in my life on regular basis in the near future).  I believe that no one can or should be deliriously bubbly and happy every minute of every day (and I’m pretty suspicious of those that appear so)…without struggle and hardship, it would be pretty difficult to appropriately appreciate the good times, right?

So thanks for indulging me and taking a few minutes out of your day to observe, follow, and advise me in my chronicles.  This blog is just a baby right now; it’ll grow up and expand as time goes on, so thanks for your patience.  I’ve already taken some huge risks and made big changes in my life just within the past few weeks that have pushed me over the starting line.  I hope you’ll stay tuned to learn about them and see what happens…maybe I’ll crash and burn (hope not), maybe I’ll end up trekking to Mount Kilimanjaro (nope), or maybe I’ll just live each day as it comes and try my best not to Scrooge it all up.  Yeah, that sounds good.

À la prochaine!

Ant Kristi

(P.S.: Click on the “About Me” tab in the Menu for the lowdown on why I’ve been dubbed Ant and not Aunt, plus more info about yours truly.)

(P.S.S.: If you’re so inclined, kindly please sign up in the column to the right/below to follow my blog and get email notifications of new postings.  Also, follow me on Twitter at @AntKristi for uncensored rantings, ravings and all sorts of general meanderings.  Merci!)

