“Since I saw you last, there is a change upon you.” ~ William Shakespeare (Antony & Cleopatra II, 6)

The day after my last day at work, I did this:

IMG_5077

I’d been wanting to cut my hair for a long time now, and a new beginning in my personal life seemed like exactly the right time to just go for it.  I haven’t had my hair this short since I was 8 years old, when my Mom took me to get it cut and the next morning a mean boy at school asked me “so are you a boy or a girl now?”  (I wish now that I’d punched him in the mouth but I think I just cried.)

It’s been a month now and I’m so glad I did it.  First of all, it’s 107 degrees in Austin right now, so it’s a much cooler option.  Secondly, I was glad to be able to donate my hair to Wigs for Kids, an organization that provides free hair replacement systems for children with cancer and other illnesses.  And third – well, it just felt freeing.  My shoulders are now bare and lighter – free from long wilted hair and from the stress of an unhealthy job.

By the way, I’m blaming that stress of the past year for the recent appearance of several unwelcome PURE WHITE hairs on the top of my head that have now become even more conspicuous with my new short ‘do.  How did I skip over gray and go straight to white??  I hope I don’t wake up one morning with one of those stress-induced skunk-type stripes on the side of my head. 

So – even though I do miss wearing my baseball hats with my long ponytail, I’m liking this change.  You always hear about how much people hate change, but I think it can be a very good thing.  It forces us out of our comfort zone and gives our adjustment abilities that much-needed skills practice.

What change have you been thinking about making lately?  Will you do it?  Why or why not?

À la prochaine!

Ant Kristi

PS: If you missed the first stage of the 2013 Tour de France this morning, it was a doozy!  Never let it be said that the sport of cycling is boring: with only about 15 minutes to go in the race, one of the team buses inexplicably got wedged/stuck under the overhanging gantry/barrier at the finish line on the island of  Corsica. 

With the riders barreling down the road towards the finish in an all-out sprint, the TdF organizers scrambled frantically to free the bus in order to avoid a major catastrophe.  They flip-flopped back and forth on directions to the riders, first telling them a revised finish line would now be at the 3 km to go mark before the actual finish, but then retracting that when they finally got the bus freed with only minutes to spare.  Confusion and chaos ruled, major crashes happened inside the final 5 km to the (actual) finish, and the now-famous bus of course immediately got its own parody Twitter account (@OricaGreenEdgeB).

Talk about having to adapt to change…  Vive le Tour!

Photo by Casey B. Gibson via velonews.competitor.com

Photo by Casey B. Gibson via velonews.competitor.com

