Author’s Note:  This post begins a series called “Life Letters to My Nephews,” or LLTMN for short.  Each letter will focus on a different topic and contain observations, sentiments and advice about life that I hope my nephews may one day find useful or interesting.  Hudson, Truman, Andrew & Wyatt:  I write these letters to convey how much I value, admire, and love each one of you!

Dear Nephews:

As you know, I don’t have any kids of my own.  There was a time in my life when I wanted to have a child and be a mom, but it just didn’t work out that way.  But that’s ok, because now I think that one of my main purposes in life was to try to be a good aunt to you instead!

(By the way, if you’re wondering why my name is written “Ant” Kristi instead of “Aunt” Kristi, click here to find out the reason.  Hudson, you were probably too young to even remember the story, but you’re the one behind it all!)

I remember when each one of you was born like it was yesterday.  I was very happy to actually be there at the clinic when Wyatt was born, but for the rest of you I still lived in Albuquerque then, and had to wait anxiously for someone to call me on the phone to tell me that you were finally here.  I remember holding each of you for the first time when you were babies and smelling your “new baby” smell (until it turned to needs-a-diaper-change smell and then I handed you back off to your Mom or Dad, which is an aunt’s prerogative).

wyatt onesie

Wyatt at 1 day old!

I remember one time Hudson when you were about three and I was visiting for a weekend; you had a pretend kitchen set up by your room with a whole tub full of plastic fruits and vegetables and other foods.  You took me by the hand and said “Want to play restaurant with me?”  I said “Of course,” and for the next hour, you walked back and forth across the room between me and the play kitchen asking me what I wanted to order.  I’d say “a hamburger please” and you’d go pretend to cook it and then bring it to me: “Here you go.”  Then you’d take it back and ask me what else I wanted.  “A slice of tomato on a banana please,” and you’d bring them over.  We went through each piece of plastic food about 28 times.  You never got tired of it and you had such polite manners every time.  It’s one of my favorite aunt memories and I loved it

I also love that each one of you is so different.  And it’s good to be different – if everyone were all the same and did the same things as everyone else, the world would be a very boring place.  Always be your own person and be true to yourself.

When I finally made the decision to move from New Mexico to Texas a few years ago, the main reason was because my family is here and because I wanted to be an active part of your lives.  Now that I’m here, I love watching each of you grow up, although it’s going by way too fast!  It seems like it was just a few days ago that we were all sitting around a table on a beach in Florida discussing what the first baby’s name would be, and now all of a sudden Hudson is 9 years old as I write this.  It doesn’t seem possible. 

Sometimes I just watch each of you and think about what you’ll be when you grow up:  a teacher, a police officer, an artist, a songwriter, a baseball player…or maybe a professional wrestler, a pirate, a zombie, a lawyer, a rodeo clown…the possibilities are endless really.  I wish for each of you that you find things to do in life that make you full of joy and spirit and comfort and peace, whatever they may be. 

IMG_5524

Nephew Corner on my refrigerator
(The paper says “Happy Brithay to the bestes ant en the world.”)

I love being your aunt because you all make me laugh and make me think on my toes.  I love being your aunt because you challenge me in many ways.  I love being your aunt because you each add purpose to my life and that makes me UNunhappy.  And yes, I love being your aunt because I get to give you back to your parents after you’ve tired me out for the day.  🙂 

If I’m sometimes strict with you, it’s usually because I’m looking out for you and your safety.  Sometimes it’s because I see how much you have to offer and I want you to live up to your incredible potential.  But it’s always from a place of love and concern for you as a person and my nephew.  You are my family, the closest things to children of my own that I’ll ever have.  I may not know how to really be a parent, but I’ll always try to be a good aunt for you.  I might mess up sometimes, but I’m giving it my best shot.

So if you ever need anything, just let me know.  I love all of you and would do anything in the world for you.  Well almost anything….I won’t eat meat for you, even if you cook it yourself – I’ve been a vegetarian for 19 years now and it’s too late for that.  Also, I probably can’t kill any bugs for you, they freak me out too much (especially moths).  And I will never buy you a real motorcycle, they’re too dangerous. 

But most anything else, you can count on me.  Always.

Love,

Ant Kristi

ant-with-flower

