“It beckons you to go away with it, as if it some impartment did desire to you alone.” ~ William Shakespeare, Hamlet (I, 4)

Sorry for the delay since my last post, the last week of the Tour de France has kept me glued to the TV and computer every day! I’ll be sad after the three-week race is finally over on Sunday, but what a spectacle it’s been! Today the riders climbed the mythic Alpe d’Huez TWICE in one stage! Never been done before, and a French rider fittingly won the stage (for the first time this Tour actually), so good for them. There will be even more empty wine bottles than usual in France tonight, I suspect.

Onto the topic of the day: I’ve been wanting to share a recent and very UNunhappy mission with you that took place a week ago. I’d seen comments on my Twitter feed recently regarding a campaign called “The Lonely Bouquet” that was launched out of Belgium. The amusing @LonelyBouquet Twitter profile states they are “A guerrilla campaign for flower fanatics meant to make people’s day brighter, one flower at a time!” I was intrigued.

From their website at LonelyBouquet.com (or Fleuropean.com), the gist of the Lonely Bouquet goes something like this: “1) pick flowers fresh from the garden or forage straight from nature, 2) arrange the flowers in a small, recycled jar, 3) add a signature “take me!” tag, and 4) leave the arrangement behind for a lucky local to take home. Voila! You have just delivered a handful of flowers that will surely put a smile on a stranger’s face.”

(From the Lonely Bouquet website.)

(From the Lonely Bouquet website.)

The basic concept of the Lonely Bouquet goes a little something like this: 1) pick flowers fresh from the garden or forage straight from nature, 2) arrange the flowers in a small, recycled jar, 3) add a signature “take me!” tag, and 4) leave the homegrown arrangement behind for a lucky local to take home. Voila! You have just delivered a handful of flowers that will surely put a smile on a stranger’s face. – See more at: http://www.fleuropean.com/international_lonely_bouquet_day/#sthash.xGiap27P.dpuf
The basic concept of the Lonely Bouquet goes a little something like this: 1) pick flowers fresh from the garden or forage straight from nature, 2) arrange the flowers in a small, recycled jar, 3) add a signature “take me!” tag, and 4) leave the homegrown arrangement behind for a lucky local to take home. Voila! You have just delivered a handful of flowers that will surely put a smile on a stranger’s face. – See more at: http://www.fleuropean.com/international_lonely_bouquet_day/#sthash.xGiap27P.dpuf
The basic concept of the Lonely Bouquet goes a little something like this: 1) pick flowers fresh from the garden or forage straight from nature, 2) arrange the flowers in a small, recycled jar, 3) add a signature “take me!” tag, and 4) leave the homegrown arrangement behind for a lucky local to take home. Voila! You have just delivered a handful of flowers that will surely put a smile on a stranger’s face. – See more at: http://www.fleuropean.com/international_lonely_bouquet_day/#sthash.xGiap27P.dpuf
The basic concept of the Lonely Bouquet goes a little something like this: 1) pick flowers fresh from the garden or forage straight from nature, 2) arrange the flowers in a small, recycled jar, 3) add a signature “take me!” tag, and 4) leave the homegrown arrangement behind for a lucky local to take home. Voila! You have just delivered a handful of flowers that will surely put a smile on a stranger’s face. – See more at: http://www.fleuropean.com/international_lonely_bouquet_day/#sthash.xGiap27P.dpuf

Pretty great idea right?! June 30 was apparently “International Lonely Bouquet Day,” but I didn’t learn about it until after that. Even though I’m not an “official” florist yet, I wanted to be a part of this kind campaign. So last week I took the remnants of the arrangement I’d made in my last floral class and re-fashioned the still-fresh flowers into three small, separate Lonely Bouquets. I bought a pack of mason jars at the grocery store, and printed up the recommended “take me” tags to attach to each one.

Once the bouquets were ready, I stored them in my refrigerator and started thinking of where I could leave them around town. Where does one leave free bouquets? I needed a partner for this secret mission, so I enlisted the help of my nephew Truman. Once I explained the operation to him and showed him the bouquets, he helped me come up with ideas on the three locales for our Lonely Bouquets. Truman was my lookout guy as I placed each one, making sure no one was looking as I took a picture; then we’d scurry away in laughter back to the car.

Lonely Bouquet #1 we left at the local firehouse for the hero firefighters and EMS workers to find; we thought that either it would brighten up their living quarters or maybe they’d pass it along to a patient who would like it:

Lonely Bouquet 1

LB1a

Lonely Bouquet #2 we left at a park on a bench, near a crowded pool on a hot summer evening. We hoped that one of the summer fun-goers would adopt our flowers and take them home to a cool kitchen table:

LB2c

Lonely Bouquet 2

Lonely Bouquet #3 we left at a location of Truman’s choosing: the nearby Senior Citizen’s home down the street. We waited until the entryway was clear, and then placed our flowers on a bench by the front door. We hope they brightened the day of a resident at the home:

Lonely Bouquet 3

We had such fun placing the bouquets, and when I circled back around later than night, all three of them had been picked up and hopefully adopted! I went to the Lonely Bouquet website to put our flowers on their live interactive map and document our efforts as part of the worldwide campaign – and I couldn’t believe ours were the first Lonely Bouquets in Austin!

I haven’t heard back from any of the “adopters” through the contact links I left on the tags, but that’s ok. It was just great to make the arrangements and spend the time with my nephew doing something that hopefully made a few more people UNunhappy that day. We plan to place more bouquets out there again soon! Thank you LonelyBouquet.com!

My secret mission lookout man.

My secret mission lookout man.

À la prochaine!

Ant Kristi

